Janette and Mystic

 

My recent trip to Tucson to the Equine Voices Sanctuary with Anna was amazing in many ways, but what stands out for me is the time I spent with my “assigned” horse, Mystic. She was the lead mare in a pen with 5 other horses, 4 mares and one gelding. She is a gentle leader with a powerful presence. I never saw her flatten an ear or use any force, but it was clear that she was the boss.

The first day she allowed me into her space and we connected. I was able to lead her away from her food with a string around her neck. I worked on untangling her mane and she stood quietly. The next few days I haltered her and led her all around the pen. I could feel our connection like a thin piece of elastic between us. I was thrilled and honored that she was willing to leave her food and her herd to be with me. The last morning of class, Michelle suggested that we might be ready to go for a walk outside the pen, so acting as my anchor, we took a small loop outside of the gate. Mystic was calm and relaxed, so we took a bigger loop around and she seemed to really enjoy it. Later, when I told Anna and Karen what we had done, they both seemed surprised. I found out that she had not been outside of her pen in several years. What a gift I was able to give her!

That afternoon we went to all the pens to work on energy and communication. I went to Mystic, but because the food truck was running late, she was busy watching for it and did not want to interact. I understood that she was doing her job and it was not personal, but I was saddened that we did not have that final goodbye. I was however, surprised by the rest of the herd, as they came up to me one by one, as if to say thank you. They had not interacted with me at all the whole week.

As luck would have it, I was able to return for a short time before my flight out the next morning. When I went to Mystic, she stood quietly as we connected our heart chakras. It was a powerful moment in time as we stood together. I was able to have the closure I needed with her, and I felt her connection to me stronger that day than it even was before. I was able to see how quietly powerful a lead mare can be, and that was her gift to me!

Thanks Anna, and Equine Voices for giving me the opportunity to fulfill my mission of making the difference in the lives of the horses there.

 

Janette Walker

Leave a Reply

