The Amazing Nakota Horses of North Dakota and the Kuntz Ranch

Photos Courtesy of Susan Solomon, Kathy King Raedeke and Anna Twinney
Photos Courtesy of Susan Solomon, Kathy King Raedeke and Anna Twinney

I often wonder what it is about the wild horses that keeps calling to my heart.  Is it the tremendous empathy I have for them?  Or am I able to relate to them in an unusual manner?

Throughout my life I have found myself in situations in which I needed to adapt to living in brand new counties, to new languages, to both City and Country life, and to a man’s world and learn to be self-reliant.  Although we truly cannot walk in our horses’ hooves we can certainly relate to all that they endure in our world and help them ease their way into our society.  Over 3 decades ago I began by learning their language, the language of Equus.

When I was invited to join Leo Kuntz at his ranch in North Dakota I felt intrigued and excited to meet not only the man behind this mission but the horses as well.  Over the years I have been blessed to work with many Mustangs and wild horses including: Cerbats, Kiger-Mustangs (Spirit – The Mustang from the Cimarron), Shy Boy (Monty Robert’s famous Mustang), Pryor Mountain & McCullough Peaks herds, Sulphur Springs, the Wilbur-Cruce herds and many more.  This was a chance to meet the Nokota horses…what gratitude I felt.

Our experience was memorable and it brings me great joy to share in some of the moments spent gentling Leo’s horses and watching them interact in their family groups.

I hope you enjoy,
Anna Twinney,
Founder, Reach Out to Horses

629__________________________________________________
 A word from Leo….

Leo
I thank Anna and friends for coming to the ranch for a very interesting clinic.  Over the years I have attended 622and watched many clinics.  I respect Anna’s methods in introducing the wild horse to the human world and think it has a place in everyone’s horse program.  I would also like to thank Anna for introducing more of the horse world to the Nokota Horse, a forgotten historic rancher strain of horses that find their foundation in the war and buffalo horses taken from Sitting Bull and other Chiefs upon their surrender, after Custer’s Last Stand.  These horses became the preferred ranch horses of the northern great plains. [Dobie..The Mustangs]

Hopefully, Anna’s methods and the Nokota Horse have a good future in the horse world.  Leo Kuntz, ND
617

 __________________________________________________
A video journal of our Nokota horse experience   
Introducing…the Nokota horses and Leo Kuntz through ROTH

Nokota wild horses – EXTREME Stallion behavior

Do you have what it takes to tame a wild horse?
We do at Reach Out to Horses

Control of body, mind & energy. A FEEL like no other – do you have what it takes to tame a wild horse safely for both you and the horse? “I respect what Annas doing. There is a set way of how the trainers do it. You go against the grain and you are putting yourself out there. Nobody teaches putting a wild horse in a box stall without a halter. Acclimatizing into a way of life they are going into…Leo Kuntz

ROTH gentle Nokota horses at the Kuntz Ranch in North Dakota

________________________________________

633

Alecia Evans (CO):
“Thank for you allowing me to partake in this workshop and trusting me to come up to the task. I knew that it was going to be life-chaning and transformative, I just didn’t know how much. Having horses and being around domesticated horses is a completely different experience than being around an untouched wild horse. The awareness that my experience with Moonshine and the other horses provided me about the true essence and sensitivity of these majestic beings was often beyond words. It led me to a new level of being present, of being trustworthy and of the responsibility I now carry to do my best by all horses and humans. Anna, you are an extraordinary teacher and leader and I was truly blown away by your full presence every minute of every day. Thank you for sharing your gifts and knowledge with us all and for all that you sacrifice to do so.
And to Leo who so graciously allowed us into his home and into his herd, I thank you so much for being so open to sharing your experiences, knowledge and heart with us and the horses you love so dearly.”

Karen (NY):
“I’m really glad I came. I took a leap of faith and thought to myself just jump into the unknown, be adventurous. I learned a bit more about myself and about the horses. I’ve never seen or been anywhere like this (Leo Kuntzs Ranch in ND). Getting to know Leo and having him with us throughout the clinic was invaluable and really added tremendously to the experience. (Thank you Leo)”.

Kathy (OH):
“I cannot tell you how much I love this man! Ive been blessed by him. It’s a privilege and honor to know him through these horses. It was important for me to bring Anna here and her magic. Ive been struggling for a long time where I would bring my horsemanship. I came in fragile and I couldn’t ask for a better experience. Thank you both for taking a leap of faith!”

Laurent (CO):
“Thank you Leo for letting us in your museum. Thank you Ms Anna, with respect, for your good work and good advice. What I want to thank most of all is the horse! I started a friendship with Snowstorm and we had intimate moments. He doesn’t belong anywhere else.”

Susan (NC):
“I think you know I’m adaptive to whatever. When you said we are going to ND and I don’t know where, I said: “I don’t care”. This sings to my heart. Every time I work with the horse they ground me and allow me to again give back to people. hopefully I have given something to the horses as they have given everything to me.” Thank you as it truly was a remarkable experience. Wishing I were back there now!

Winsome (WA):
“Sitting here left with the feeling….its more of a re-ignition. Everything we have done in 6 days. I appreciate your letting me come as I know there were prerequisites. Its left me with a feeling of what I can do next to help. I knew this experience would help me as a parent (to be) and as a person. I know looking back this is a life-changer!”

Leo (ND) & Founder:
“I’m skeptical. We all know the horses will tell you what the trainers know. I watched Anna maintain the same, I would see it work on him. He (Billy) challenged more than any horses I know in my barn. She took it out of him. You don’t see or realize the progress of the horses. Ive seen the change!

Anna haltering Billy
“You know she can so its not impossible what she’s asking”
Leo Kuntz

“I respect what Annas doing. There is a set way of how the trainers do it. You go against the grain and you are putting yourself out there. Nobody teaches putting a wild horse in a box stall without a halter. Acclimatizing into a way of life they are going into…Leo Kuntz

Leave a Reply

